Swords: the voice

Let us talk swords for a moment…

I love swords, not what they do to humans but in the design. In my book series I want swords, yes it is an advance civilization I know… but come on swords are cool. So off I went for months to look up swords online. The variety is incredible. king-arthur-excalibur-sword

As we all know the myths surrounding swords is deep in our culture. From Excalibur protecting Camelot, the sword of St George that battled the dragons, to the even recent pseudo-claims of Commodus Roman swords. Myths have always surrounded swords and maybe that is why we find them fascinating.

Anime apparently is obsessed with oversized weapons that would be useless in a real battle. However still these mega-weapons are quite interesting in design and concept.

Movies and books are also consumed with swords. Look at the light sabers fame and though, not in the book as portrayed, the TV version of the throne built of swords. The lure of swords are absorbed by stories, movies, and televised series. How would King Arthur lead without Excalibur, the regency of world leaders portrayed with sword at side, and the majestic display of the saber arch at many and wedding? Swords for good or bad are a part of pour world. Little kids play wooden swords, battling the imaginary dragon or the evil that is invading their land. We have the swords of Middle Earth, named and given an origin of their birth. We are deluged in sword lore.

Swords made by blade-smith through the centuries. The craftsmanship that is exquisite. To take a piece of metal, pounding and shaping until the metal bends to the will of the smith. That in itself is power. Then place that sword in the hands of a skilled warrior and the power is released. That is the concept I am looking at. The sword becomes the voice for the warrior.

Going off that line of thought, not only the voice but also the redeemer of virtue, the act of vengeance, and the demand for justice. So that is where in my story with the sword is going: a major part of the story-line as it will be in the beginning and the end the sword will have the say.

 

About jasterling

One part of my life is in the science of anthropology and archaeology where I did comparative work. My other life that I am now pursuing is writing along the lines of fantasy/sci fi fictional writing as my one way to stay sane in this other insane world. Please enjoy the selections you will find in my blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment